Program Advising

This page lists advisors with faculties, schools and departments who are available to work with Aboriginal students. Contact the advisor that applies to you to help you to plan course timetables and make sure you meet your program’s requirements.

If you see someone missing from this site, please tell the site administrator to have them included.


Allard School of Law

Indigenous Legal Studies

Lee Schmidt
Associate Director, Indigenous Legal Studies
Phone: 604-822-2177
Email: lschmidt@allard.ubc.ca

Indigenous Legal Studies site


Faculty of Applied Science

School of Architecture + Landscape Architecture

Tara Deans
Manager, Student Services & Recruitment
Phone: 604-822-3445
Email: tdeans@sala.ubc.ca

Architecture site


Engineering Student Services

Catherine McInnis
Academic Advisor, Domestic and International
Email: catherine.mcinnis@ubc.ca

Engineering Academic Services site


Indigenous Community Planning

Leonie Sandercock
Professor
Phone: 604-822-0225
Email: leonies@mail.ubc.ca

Indigenous Community Planning site


School of Nursing

Dr. Leanne Currie
Associate Professor
Phone: 604-822-7485
Email: leanne.currie@nursing.ubc.ca

Nursing site


Faculty of Arts

Arts Indigenous Student Advising

Karlene Harvey
Academic Advisor, Indigenous Students
Faculty of Arts
Phone: 604-827-5467
Email: arts.indigenous@ubc.ca

Arts Indigenous Student Advising (AISA) site


School of Creative Writing

Billy-Ray Belcourt
Assistant Professor, Fiction | Nonfiction | Poetry
Email: billyray.belcourt@ubc.ca

School of Creative Writing site


Department of French, Hispanic & Italian Studies

Daniela Boccassini
Professor of Italian
Phone: 604-822-4006
Email: daniela.boccassini@ubc.ca

French, Hispanic & Italian Studies site


iSchool (Library, Archival and Information Studies)

Lisa Nathan
Assistant Professor
Phone: 604-822-1574
Email: lnathan@interchange.ubc.ca

UBC iSchool site


School of Music

Rayne Graham
Student Advisor
Phone: 604-827-5502
Email: music.advisor@ubc.ca

Music site


Department of Psychology

Dr. Benjamin Cheung
Indigenous Initiatives Coordinator
Phone: 604-822-3007
Email: bycheung@psych.ubc.ca

Psychology Undergraduate site


School of Social Work

Christine Graham
Program Advisor
Phone: 604-822-4119
Email: sowk.advisor@ubc.ca

Social Work site


Faculty of Dentistry

Dr. Riki Gottlieb
Clinical Professor
Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs
Phone: 604-822-5747
Email: riki.gottlieb@dentistry.ubc.ca

Dentistry site


Faculty of Education

Indigenous Teacher Education Program (NITEP)

Alexis Okabe
Program Advisor
Phone: 604-822-5238
Email: alexis.okabe@ubc.ca

NITEP site


School of Kinesiology

Deborah Gromer
Associate Academic Advisor
Phone: 604-822-4512
Email: deborah.gromer@ubc.ca

Kinesiology site


Joel Liman

Faculty of Land and Food Systems

Joel Liman
Indigenous Academic Advisor
Phone: 604-827-1570
Email: joel.liman@ubc.ca

Indigenous Student Initiatives site


Faculty of Medicine

School of Audiology and Speech Sciences

Anthony Herdman
Associate Professor
Phone: 604-827-4853
Email: aherdman@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Audiology and Speech site


Indigenous MD Admissions Program

James Andrew, Lil’wat Nation
Indigenous Student Initiatives Manager
Phone: 604-822-8921

Meghan MacGillivray, Métis Nation
MD Indigenous Initiatives and Admissions Coordinator
Phone 604-822-6185
Email: indigenous.md@ubc.ca

MD Undergraduate Program site


School of Population and Public Health

Dr. Chris Richardson
Assistant Professor, Acting Advisor
Phone: 604-827-4023
Email: chris.richardson@ubc.ca

Population and Public Health site


Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Carol Kuang
Recruitment and Admissions Officer (E2P PharmD Program)
Phone: 604-822-0344
Email: undergrad.pharm@ubc.ca

PharmD site


Joel Liman

Faculty of Science

Joel Liman
Indigenous Academic Advisor
Phone: 604-827-1570
Email: joel.liman@ubc.ca

Indigenous Student Initiatives site


Sauder School of Business

Sheila D’Souza
Academic Advisor | Undergraduate Office
Phone: 604-827-3726
Email: Sheila.DSouza@sauder.ubc.ca

Bachelor of Commerce site


KarenRolston

UBC Extended Learning

Karen Rolston
Director
Phone: 604-822-1435
Email: karen.rolston@ubc.ca

Extended Learning site


UBC Graduate School

Indigenous Graduate Initiatives

Rebecca Jules
Specialist, Indigenous Graduate Initiatives
Phone: 604-822-6965
Email: rebecca.jules@ubc.ca

Indigenous Graduate Students site


Master of Journalism

Andrea Yan
Program Coordinator & Graduate Advisor
Phone: 604-822-1513
Email: andrea.yan@ubc.ca
Journalism site