Program Advising

This page lists advisors with faculties, schools and departments who are available to work with Aboriginal students. Contact the advisor that applies to you to help you to plan course timetables and make sure you meet your program’s requirements.

If you see someone missing from this site, please tell the site administrator to have them included.


Faculty of Applied Science

Engineering Student Services

Claudia Buffone
Associate Academic Advsior
Phone: 604-827-1840
Email: claudia.buffone@ubc.ca
Engineering site


School of Architecture

Trish Poehnell
Architecture Student Services Coordinator
Phone: 604-822-2779
Email: ppoehnell@sala.ubc.ca
Architecture site


Tara_DeansSchool of Landscape Architecture

Tara Deans
Student Services Coordinator
Phone: 604-822-3445
Email: tdeans@sala.ubc.ca
Landscape Architecture site


Faculty of Arts


Karlene Harvey
Academic Advisor, Indigenous Students
Phone: 604-827-5467
Email: arts.indigenous@ubc.ca
Arts Indigenous Student Advising (AISA) site


School of Audiology and Speech Sciences

Anthony Herdman
Associate Professor
Phone: 604-827-4853
Email: aherdman@audiospeech.ubc.ca
Audiology and Speech site


Sauder School of Business


Sheila D’Souza
Academic Advisor | Undergraduate Office
Phone: 604-827-3726
Email: Sheila.DSouza@sauder.ubc.ca
Bachelor of Commerce site


School of Community and Regional Planning


Leonie Sandercock
Professor
Phone: 604-822-0225
Email: leonies@mail.ubc.ca
Indigenous Community Planning site


Faculty of Dentistry


Dr. Riki Gottlieb
Clinical Professor
Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs
Phone: 604-822-5747
Email: riki.gottlieb@dentistry.ubc.ca
Dentistry site


Education: Indigenous Teacher Education Program


Alexis Okabe
Program Advisor
NITEP, Faculty of Education
Phone: 604-822-5238
Email: alexis.okabe@ubc.ca
NITEP site


Education: Ts’’kel Graduate Studies in Education


TBA
Phone:
Email:
Ts’’kel site


Extended Learning

KarenRolston
Karen Rolston
Director
Phone: 604-822-1435
Email: karen.rolston@ubc.ca
Extended Learning site


Department of French, Hispanic & Italian Studies


Daniela Boccassini
Professor of Italian
Phone: 604-822-4006
Email: daniela.boccassini@ubc.ca
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies site


Faculty of Graduate Studies


Rebecca Jules
Specialist, Indigenous Graduate Initiatives
Phone: 604-822-6965
Email: rebecca.jules@ubc.ca
Indigenous Graduate Students site


School of Kinesiology


Deborah Gromer
Associate Academic Advisor
Phone: 604-822-4512
Email: deborah.gromer@ubc.ca
Kinesiology site


Graduate School of Journalism


Andrea Yan
Program Coordinator & Graduate Advisor
Phone: 604-822-1513
Email: andrea.yan@ubc.ca
Journalism site


Faculty of Land and Food Systems

Joel Liman
Joel Liman
Senior Advisor and Recruiter – Aboriginal Students
Phone: 604-827-1570
Email: joel.liman@ubc.ca
Aboriginal Initiatives site


Allard School of Law


Lee Schmidt
Associate Director, Indigenous Legal Studies
Phone: 604-822-2177
Email: lschmidt@allard.ubc.ca
Indigenous Legal Studies site


UBC iSchool (Library, Archival and Information Studies)


Lisa Nathan
Assistant Professor
Phone: 604-822-1574
Email: lnathan@interchange.ubc.ca
UBC iSchool site


Faculty of Medicine


James Andrew, Lil’wat Nation
Indigenous Student Initiatives Manager
Faculty of Medicine | MD Undergraduate Admissions
Phone: 604-822-8921
 
Meghan MacGillivray, Métis Nation
MD Indigenous Initiatives and Admissions Coordinator
Faculty of Medicine | MD Undergraduate Admissions
Phone 604-822-6185

Email: indigenous.md@ubc.ca

MD Undergraduate Program site


School of Music


Rayne Graham
Student Advisor
Phone: 604-827-5502
Email: music.advisor@ubc.ca
Music site


School of Nursing


Dr. Leanne Currie
Associate Professor
Phone: 604-822-7485
Email: leanne.currie@nursing.ubc.ca
Nursing site


Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences


Carol Kuang
Recruitment and Admissions Officer (E2P PharmD Program)
Phone: 604-822-0344
Email: undergrad.pharm@ubc.ca
PharmD site


Department of Pyschology


Dr. Benjamin Cheung
Indigenous Initiatives Coordinator
Phone: 604-822-3007
Email: bycheung@psych.ubc.ca
Psychology Undergraduate site


School of Population and Public Health


Dr. Chris Richardson
Assistant Professor, Acting Advisor
Phone: 604-827-4023
Email: chris.richardson@ubc.ca
Population and Public Health site


Faculty of Science

Joel Liman
Joel Liman
Senior Advisor and Recruiter – Aboriginal Students
Phone: 604-827-1570
Email: joel.liman@ubc.ca
Aboriginal Initiatives site


School of Social Work


Christine Graham
Program Advisor
Phone: 604-822-4119
Email: sowk.advisor@ubc.ca
Social Work site